Columbia College awards 39 students with a Frank S. Westling Scholarship

Columbia College awarded 39 students from 23 campus locations with a $500 scholarship in honor of Frank S. Westling. Congratulations to the following students:

Melissa Aikins

Edna Allen

Melody Buersmeyer

Donna Buss

Kimberly Carpenter

Stephanie Casiano

Casey Clouchete

Lorraine Cross

Sidney Crudup II

Natercia Da Silva Pereira

Idenisse Diaz

Lucrisha Graham Clark

George Grzesik

Adam Guerrero

Jason Henderson

Christina Johnson

Aaron Jolly

Diana Kendell

James Kendell

Guy Langman

John Lewis

Amber Love

Kevin Martin

Kelly Nadig

Kelly Neidel

Katie O’Malley

Adam Pastor

Julie Pina

Linda Preiss

Adam Racowsky

Cassondra Reichenbach

Marcus Roland

Eva Seibert

Kenneth Serratos

Robert Sloan

Scott Smith

Praveen Thapa

Michelle Weyers

Bradley Young

To qualify for the Westling award, the recipients had to:

  • Be an Online, Evening or Nationwide campus student pursuing a degree with Columbia College.
  •  Have attended Columbia College during the 2011-12 academic year (scholarship will be for the 2012-13 academic year).
  • Have a minimum GPA of 3.0.
  • Have at least 15 credit hours with Columbia College.
  •  Provide evidence of leadership and service to their community, school or country.
  •  Write a 400-500 word essay about their achievements and career goals.
  •  Complete a scholarship application at

Westling was a highly decorated infantry officer and former dean of the college’s Extended Studies Division, now Adult Higher Education. The scholarship is non-renewable and awarded to new students each year.

Before joining the college, Westling served in the U.S. Army for 31 years, fighting in World War II, Korea and Vietnam. He was awarded the Purple Heart, Bronze Star and Silver Star medals and earned parachutist and glider badges. During the Vietnam War, he commanded the Army’s 4th Psychological Operations Group in Saigon and retired as colonel.