Columbia College–Fort Leonard Wood shines at the commanding general’s Army Community of Excellence award ceremony

Left to right, Command Sgt. Maj. Corbly Elsbury,
Jim Rollins '04 and Maj. Gen. David Quantock
On July 28, Brian Bilderback, assistant director, and Sherri Pierce, program coordinator, both of Columbia College–Fort Leonard Wood, attended the Fort Leonard Wood commanding general’s Army Community of Excellence award ceremony. Their initial reason for attending was because Fort Leonard Wood campus alumnus, Jim Rollins ’04, was selected from many nominations to be the face of Columbia College’s national ad campaign. However, once they arrived, they soon discovered that there were nearly 40 Columbia College students and alumni who were presented awards for their outstanding service to the Fort Leonard Wood Army community! They expected to see several of their students being honored, but they were very surprised to find out just how many Columbia College students were recognized that day.

Among the Columbia College students honored were:

• Joint Service Member NCO, TSgt Catherine O’Mara for Army Achievement Medal 1st Quarter;
• Jim Rollins, DRM, IMCOM and Vicki Woody, 554th EN BN for Quality People CG Coins;
• Koren Dietrich, Susan Wiley, Portia Ellis, Eric Clark (Online Campus) and Jeremy Rowe (Rolla campus) for Quality Teams CG Certificates;
• Melinda Alexander, Ingrid Allwood and Johnny Tejeda for DHR Identification Card Facility Quality Teams CG Coins;
• SFC Michael Ascott, Dr. William Boone, 1SG Damis Cleveland, SSG Lajuya Hackley, SFC William Houston, SFC Peter Kieliszewski, Janet Williams (Rolla campus) for 2010 African American Black History Month Observance Committee Quality Teams CG Certificates;
• Jayne Hasik, Frances Rivera, Saunci Steele and SFC Malachi Thornton for 14th Military Police Brigade TRADOC Accreditation Quality Teams CG Certificates;
• SPC Ben Allen, SPC Timothy Clevenger, SPC Kyle Cross (Online Campus), PFC Lorenzo Dudley and SGT Brian Hayward for 2010 Army G-1 Project “Home Front” Team 1 Quality Teams CG Certificates;
• SGT Stephen Horton, SPC Richard Lafave, SPC Andrew Nord and SGT Michael Pastrano, for 2010 Army G-1 Project “Home Front” Team 2 Quality Teams CG Certificates;
• Jolene Potanko (Rolla campus), SGT Toribio Ramirez, SPC Desmond Reed, SGT John Spencer and SPC William Strehlow for 2010 Army G-1 Project “Home Front” Team 3 Quality Teams CG Certificates; and
• Ricky Brashear, Bruce Martin and Joshua Teal for Maintenance Division Reset Quality Teams CG Certificates.

Columbia College prides itself on many things, such as the success of its students and staying focused on its top priority of teaching and learning. The large number of Columbia College students and alumni receiving awards at this ceremony is a true testament of the quality of the individuals the college has the pleasure of serving. Columbia College–Fort Leonard Wood is proud to call these exemplary individuals part of the Columbia College family, and hope the students and alumni continue to reach for excellence and take Columbia College with them on their journey.
Left to right, Angie Alexander, Lori Rollins, Jim Rollins and Sherri Pierce