Record number attend graduation ceremony

One hundred fourteen graduates participated in Columbia College–Lake County’s 21st annual commencement ceremony on August 15, 2009. Twenty-six associate degree candidates, 85 bachelor’s degree candidates, and 4 master’s degree candidates walked across the stage, to roaring applause, as each student was congratulated by Mike Randerson, vice president for Adult Higher Education, Stephen Stephany, Lake County campus director, Karen Beckstrom, Elgin campus director, Melissa Stutz, Crystal Lake campus director. Other notable attendees included Columbia College alumnae Ruth Meissen and Deborah Ross-Corbett, Naval Chaplain, Lieutenant James Dance, Lake County Campus Associate Director, Lyndon Russell, and 25 faculty members from the Lake County campus. Meissen, who gave the commencement address, was the recipient of the 2008 Illinois Teacher of the Year award, as well as the Columbia College Professional Achievement Award. Ms. Ross-Corbett delivered the “Alumni Charge” prior to the closing remarks.
In addition to being honored as graduates, 25 students walked the stage as Latin Honors recipients, and 37 students walked the stage as newly inducted members of the Alpha Sigma Lambda (ASL) Honor’s Society. Both awards recognize students who have excelled academically, and earned outstanding GPA. Wayne Pratt, Lead faculty member, was also inducted into ASL as an honorary member.
We would like to congratulate all of our graduates on their hard work and achievements. In the words of Meissen, “You are the legacy that is Columbia College. Congratulations and job well done!”